All the 54 candidates who filed papers to contest regional executive positions of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Volta Region have successfully gone through a vetting process to justify their legibility in accordance with party tradition.

They have accordingly balloted for their various positions on the ballot papers for the elections to be held in Ho on Saturday, September 1.

The Regional Director of Elections for the NDC in the Volta Region, Mr Paschal Agbagba, said all the aspirants displayed a very good knowledge of the various positions they had filed their papers for.

Conditions for campaign

According to Mr Agbagba, the aspirants were cautioned against indecent campaign, attack on personalities and malicious comments that had the tendency of disintegrating the party.

The positions of treasurer and communications officer have been declared unopposed as it was only an industrialist, Mr Daniel Agboka-Dzegede, who filed while Mr Kafui Agbleze filed for the position of communications officer.

The chairmanship position is to be contested between the incumbent, Mr John Kwadzo Gyapong and a former Minister of Transport, Miss Dzifa Attivor.

Those in the race for vice chairman are Messrs Edwin Aklorbortu, Henry Ametepee, Frank Adoba, Maxwell Owusu-Siaw, Claver Kofi Lawson and Constant Tumawu.

For the position of secretary, Messrs James Gunu, Manfred Nuku-Dei, Simon Amegashie-Viglo and George Loh filed papers to contest, while Mr Ege Bright Kwashie, Mr Idam Barno Johnson, Mr Mustapha Gbande Fofo and Miss May Theodora Agbenyenu also filed to contest the position of deputy general secretary.

Other contestants

Mr George Dake and Mr Siki Abibu will contest the organiser position, while Messrs Courage Worlasi Danku, Dominic Adorboe, Desmond Mensah, Chester Sena Ati and Hope Nyavedzie vie for deputy organiser.

The position of deputy treasurer will be contested among Mr Mawuli Danyo, Miss Evelyn Gaglozu and Mr Eric Agbozo, while the deputy communications officer position will be contested among Messrs Doe Kornyoh, Edwin Amemasor, Bright Kugbeadzor and Stephen Tetteh Worwui.

The position of women’s organiser will be contested by Miss Joyce Yaa Osei, Miss Fafa Agbai, Miss Victoria Dzeklo and Miss Yvette Bridget Simpi, while the deputy women’s organiser slot will be contested by Miss Aku Asika Kpene Ansah, Madam Marian Adzroe, Miss Paulina Magyam and Miss Mary Ofori Dunyame.

For the position of youth organiser, Messrs Mathias Alagbo, Prince Toseafa and Egypt Kudoto have filed papers to contest, while the aspirants for the deputy youth organiser position are Mr Sulemana Mumuni, Mr Kwame Ricky Asamoah, Mr Brilliant Okudzeto, Mr Boli Dziewornu, Mr Bernard Potakey, Alhaji Bellow and Mr Angelo Norkplim Agbodzie.

The zonal caucus coordinator position is to be contested by Hawa Tahiru, Mohammed Ayuba, Tanko Abubakar and Baba Salisu.

Source :

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Attah Dabone
Load More In Featured
Comments are closed.

Check Also

South Africa gets gender-balanced cabinet

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa has announced a new cabinet in which, for the firs…